Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors have responsibility for the overall management and strategic direction of Teachers Mutual Bank Limited. All Board members are independent, non-executive directors and the majority are elected by members (our shareholders) on rotation every three years. We have three Board-appointed Directors.

The Directors must satisfy the Fit and Proper criteria set down by APRA, and they must abide by our Code of Conduct which outlines their legal and ethical obligations. The Directors are committed to ongoing training to maintain knowledge of emerging issues and to satisfy all governance requirements. The Board conducts an annual review of its performance, along with reviews for individual directors, committees and the executive.

Maree O'Halloran

Maree O'Halloran



Ms O’Halloran was appointed to the position of Chairperson in August 2019. She is currently a Senior Associate at NEW Law Pty Ltd. Prior to her appointment with NEW Law in April 2015, Ms O’Halloran was the Director of the Welfare Rights Centre for seven years where she also practised as a solicitor. Ms O’Halloran has worked as a teacher in both public schools and TAFE. She has been an active voice for the teaching community and is a former President of the NSW Teachers Federation. She has served as a member of the NSW Public Service Commission Advisory Board, and as a Director of Teachers Health, HESTA and the SAS Trustee Corporation.  

Ms O’Halloran was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the 2011 Australia Day Honours List, in recognition of her service to industrial relations and the education sector.

Ms O’Halloran is a member of the Board Remuneration Committee, the Risk & Compliance Committee, and the Health Professionals Bank Advisory Committee.

Linda Green

Linda Green

Deputy Chairperson

Dip. Teach, B.Ed (Primary Education), GAICD

Linda Green commenced teaching in 1979 and is currently Principal of Robert Townson Public School. She served as a member of the Supervisory Committee for two years and was elected to the Board in 1997, and as Deputy Chairperson in 2009. Mrs Green is a member of the Audit Committee, Nominations Committee, and the Teachers Mutual Bank Advisory Committee.

Director Tyrone Carlin

Tyrone Carlin


BCom, LLB (Hons), MCom (Hons), LLM, PhD, Grad Dip Fin SIA, CA, FCPA, FFin

Tyrone Carlin is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at Southern Cross University. Prior to joining Southern Cross University he was Professor of Financial Regulation and Reporting at the University of Sydney. His senior leadership experience includes service as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Registrar) and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education Operations) at the University of Sydney, Co-Dean of the University of Sydney Business School and Dean of Law at Macquarie University. He is a director of Universities Admission Centre (NSW & ACT) and the Urological Society of Australia and New Zealand. Professor Carlin is Chair of the Audit Committee, as well as a member of the Risk and Compliance Committee and the UniBank Advisory Committee. 

Verity Firth

The Hon. Verity Firth



Verity Firth is the Executive Director, Social Justice at the University of Technology Sydney, leading the university’s Centre for Social Justice and Inclusion. 

Ms Firth has over fifteen years’ experience at the very highest levels of government and the not-for-profit sector in Australia. Over the last ten years, she has been working in the Australian education sector, first as Minister for Education and Training in New South Wales (2008-2011) and then as the Chief Executive of the Public Education Foundation As Minister for Education and Training she focussed on equity in education, and how to best address educational disadvantage in low socio-economic communities, including rural and remote Indigenous communities.

As Chief Executive of the Public Education Foundation (2011-2014), Ms Firth led the Foundation's transformation from a fledgling organisation into a major provider of scholarships and support to public education.

Ms Firth was the Member for the state seat of Balmain from 2007 - 2011. Before her parliamentary career, Ms Firth worked as a lawyer and was Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of Sydney.

William Ford

Emeritus Professor William Ford


BA LLB (Hons); DipEd W Aust; DipLib (NSW); FAAL

Professor Ford was a director of Unicredit since 1990 and Chair from 2004 up until Unicredit’s merger with Teachers Mutual Bank in 2015.

Professor Ford’s experience includes Barrister and Solicitor of Supreme Court of WA; Emeritus Professor of Law (UWA); Dean of the Law School, University of WA (2001-2011); Former Chair, Council of Australian Law Deans (2007-2011); Former Committee Member (UWA Branch) NTEU & Secretary UWA Academic Staff Association; and Former National Vice-President (Academic) NTEU. He is a member of the Board Remuneration Committee, the Risk and Compliance Committee, and the UniBank Advisory Committee.

John Kouimanos

John Kouimanos


BA, Dip. Ed

John Kouimanos commenced teaching in 1967 and retired as Head Teacher Social Sciences at Greystanes High School in February 2004. He was appointed to the Supervisory Committee in 1973 and served until appointed as director in 1974. He was appointed as first Chair of the Audit Committee.

Mr Kouimanos was appointed Chair of Teachers Credit Union in 2008 and the inaugural Chair of Teachers Mutual Bank in 2012, a position he held until August 2019. He is a member of the Audit Committee and the Firefighters Mutual Bank Advisory Committee. 

Portrait image of Andrew McCready, Teachers Mutual Bank Limited Director

Andrew McCready


Andrew McCready is a Leading Station Officer in Fire + Rescue NSW and currently supervises their 000 Call Centre in Sydney. He has tertiary qualifications in Computing, Accounting, Financial Planning and Financial Services.

Mr McCready was a Director of Fire Brigades Employees Credit Union for eight years and Chair for three years. Post-merger with Teachers Mutual Bank in 2016, Mr McCready continued on the Firefighters Mutual Bank Advisory Committee, and is a member of the Audit Committee.

Michael O'Neill

Michael O’Neill


Michael O’Neill is an experienced senior executive and director with over 25 years’ experience in financial services. Michael has a strong background in finance, risk and governance, having held roles as Chief Financial Officer and Chief Risk Officer for NAB’s Personal Banking Division in Australia and Treasurer for the NAB Group. Michael also has a background in risk management consulting and audit with KPMG. Michael holds a number of non-executive positions including Chair of the Board Audit and Risk Committee at The Royal Women’s Hospital and he was Chairman of Gymnastics Victoria from 2014-2019. Michael is the Chair of the Risk and Compliance Committee, a member of the Nominations Committee and the Health Professionals Bank Advisory Committee.